Autonomy Status

The college was first accredited by NAAC in 2003 with an ‘A’ grade with the overall institutional score of 88%. In 2009 it was reaccredited by NAAC and scored an ‘A’ grade with a CGPA of 3.61 on a scale of 4. In the 3rd cycle of accreditation, it acquired an ‘A++’ grade with a CGPA of 3.70 on a four-point scale.

The college was granted AUTONOMOUS STATUS by University grants commission on 18th July, 2018. However, the college will remain affiliated to University of Mumbai. As an autonomous college we will be able to:
> Review existing courses/programs, and restructure, redesign and prescribe our own courses/programs of study and syllabi
> Formulate new courses/programs
> Evolve methods of assessment of students’ performance, conduct of examinations and notification of results
> Announce results, issue mark sheets, migration and other certificates; however, the degree shall be awarded by the University with the name of the college on the degree certificate

Autonomy gives us the freedom to design our own curriculum, keeping in mind the needs and requirements of our student body, our country and world. The evaluation process, too, is designed to ensure an objective and holistic assessment of students’ performance at examinations.

  • Governing Body
  • Academic Council
  • Finance Committee

In addition, the following committees continue to operate in college in order to fulfill the goals of autonomy


  • Internal Quality Assurance Cell
  • (Sr.) Ananda Amritmahal Principal (Chairperson, IQAC)
  • Teresa Pereira Management Representative
  • Gilda Pereira   Vice Principal (Arts)
  • Yasmin Khan Vice Principal (Science)
  • Anagha Tendulkar Vice Principal (Administration),
  • Coordinator, IQAC
  • Sheila Master Ex-Student, Consultant, IQAC
  • T.C. Roymon IQAC Subcommittee
  • Tanaz Asha IQAC Subcommittee
  • Trevor Allis IQAC Subcommittee
  • Arjumanara Surti Senior Faculty Member 
  • Ms Sandra Mendes Senior Faculty Member
  • Boskey Martis Representative of Office Staff
  • Ramesh Ramane Representative of other non-teaching Staff
  • Rajni Desai Ex-Student
  • Nevah D’Mello  Ex-Student  
  • Medha Rajadhyaksha Ex-faculty
  • Sarah Mathai  Student Body President
  • Harshini Agarwal Cultural Secretary


  • College Development Committee
  • (Sr.) Anila Verghese Chairperson of the Trust
  • Patricia D’Souza Nominee of the Secretary of the Management
  • (Sr.) Ananda Amritmahal Principal, Sophia College
  • Dr. Trevor Allis Senior faculty member nominated by Principal
  • Swarupa Kamat Elected teaching staff member
  • Yasmin Khan Elected teaching staff member
  • Rampratap Yadav Elected non-teaching staff member
  • Vispi Balaporia Local member nominated by Management (Research)
  • Vidita Rakshit Local member nominated by Management (Education)
  • Rita D’Souza Local member nominated by Management (Industry)
  • Madhav Sathe Local member nominated by Management (Social  Service)
  • Sheila Master Consultant, Internal Quality Assurance Cell
  • Anagha Tendulkar Coordinator, Internal Quality Assurance Cell
  • Sarah Mathai Student Body President
  • Harshini Agarwal Cultural Secretary


  • Planning and Evaluation Committee
  • (Sr.) Ananda Amritmahal Principal
    • Gilda Pereira   Vice Principal (Arts)
    • Yasmin Khan Vice Principal (Science)
    • Anagha Tendulkar Vice Principal (Administration)
    • Roshan D’Souza
    • Paul Rozario
    • Lavanya Varadharajan


  • Examination Committee

Controller of Examination - Dr Yasmin Khan

Conduct of Examinations -Dr. Sunita Jadhav - Deputy Controller

Ms. Tanaz Asha - Assistant to Deputy

Declaration of Results  - Dr. Rashna Poncha - Deputy Controller

Dr. Meeta Saxena - Assistant to Deputy